About Korean Society

New Zealand is a nation built upon its multicultural heritage and various ethnic groups add diversity to this country. Korean community is one of major ethnic groups in New Zealand, accounting for 45,000 ethnic Koreans nationwide and 3,500 of them in Canterbury region (2013).


Korean Society of Christchurch was established in 1993 as a non-profit organization and is headed by the 12th president Ms. Judy (Gyojin) Yun and more than 20 volunteering committee members.


Korean Society runs a number of projects to promote the harmony between ethnic Koreans and local Canterburian thanks to the grants from Christchurch City Council, Ministry of Ethnic Affairs, Overseas Koreans Foundation, Korean Embassy, Songpa Sister City, Lottery, Canterbury Community Trust as well as sponsorship and donations from local business and individuals.




Our committee members

(at present 2021)

President : Mary Yoon

Vice Presidents : David Bae

Office Manager : David Bae

General Affairs : Soomin Shin

Public Relations : Simon Uh






Korean Society Office


Community House,

301 Tuam Street, Christchurch, 

Mob: 027 561 5898

Kakao ID: chchkorean